India – Central Province

Address: Holy Cross Instute, P.B. No. 59, Hazaribag – 825 301 Dt. Hazaribag, Jharkhand
Phone: 0091 – 06546 – 222 538

1 First Provincial House
2 New Provincial House
3 Provincial Team
  • The first Holy Cross Sisters arrived from Ingenbohl as missionaries to India in Bettiah, on 22nd November 1894.
  • The Indian Mission of the Holy Cross Sisters was raised to the status of a Province by the Holy See on 3rd March 1970.
  • The Province was divided into five regions on 3rd October 1983.
  • In the year 1991 the Indian Province branched out into three provinces – Central Province, North East Province and South Province.
  • The Central Province was re-structured again into two provinces – Central province and Mid India Province on 14th September 2015.

The strength of the Central Province

Communities: 39, Ssters: 262, Novices: 17, Candidates: 44


The Sisters of the Province are engaged in education, medical, social, pastoral and some frontline ministries like deaddiction of alcoholics, fight against human trafficking, care for mentally and physically challenged children and youth, HIV/AIDs and Palliative care. In many places, we render our service in collaboration with the Diocese and/or other religious like Jesuits, TOR (Third Order Regular of St. Francis), Don Bosco and Holy Cross Fathers and with other organization.

Specific Projects: According to the need of the time the province has responded to the most burning issues of Jharkhand state which are fighting human trafficking, deaddiction as well as HIV/AIDs rehabilitation programmes and palliative care.

4 Awareness prog. in Sikoi Village
5 Chainpur - De-addiction Centre - Class room teaching
6 HIV -Patients_ward-